The Proposal — 8/20/2009

We’re getting MARRIED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know you all are wondering and some of you have asked but this is the best way I can think of to tell you all at once so here’s how it happened…..

A few weeks before Elliot moved back from his internship in Indiana we decided to set aside a night to go out and celebrate my summer semester being over and him being back for good. About a week after that he told me got me a present. And like everybody who knows they are getting a present, I bothered him to tell me what it was and he just wouldn’t.

Anyway, so he picked me up last night looking handsome as ever and he first surprised me with sushi at the Drunken Fish. It’s my favorite and we’ve both been wanting some for a while so it was perfect and delicious. After sushi he took me to the Alton dam. This is one of the first places we went after we first met. Not only is it beautiful, but it’s quiet, peaceful and the sound of the water reminds me of the ocean. It was gorgeous out and I couldn’t have asked for more beautiful weather. The best part is that I’ve never been to the dam when it was still day light out, I’ve always been at night time. His timing was amazing because the sun was setting over the water- it was perfect. After hanging out for a while, taking some picture and getting scared by a frog we decided to head back to the car. As we got closer to the car he told me to close my eyes and I could have my present. So he led me the rest of the way, eyes closed. He opened the trunk and told me I could open my eyes. It was amazing he got me a huge antique chest… haha I know by this point you thought it was the ring, but it wasn’t. Anyway, back to the story it was beautiful! And by beautiful I mean old and in need of a lot of work. This may sound silly, but I for a really long time have wanted a chest to fix up. I guess i could get a new one, but I wanted an old one that I could fix up. That way it would still have character from being old, but I could make it new and make it mine- sorry side tracked again… as I hugged and thanked Elliot for my great surprise he kind of laughed and told me I had to open it. Flustered from being so excited, I had trouble getting it open and then the even better surprise sat in a little white box inside my new chest. So Elliot took it out, got down on one knee like a real gentleman as he displayed the most beautiful ring in the world and told me how much he loved me and how much he didn’t want to live without me. Then he asked me to marry him, and through I few tears and a HUGE smile I said YES! Then there were lots of phone calls made as we drove to Fritz’s to celebrate! You know it’s for real when you top it off with Fritz’s.

We don’t know an official date yet, but we do know that we are beyond blessed.
I’m marrying my best friend and I can’t wait!!!!!!!!!!

–Brandy

engaged 003

engaged 010

engaged 011

engaged 002

engaged5

engaged3

2 responses to “The Proposal — 8/20/2009

Leave a comment